St George’s Hero Awards!

I am truly humbled to have been nominated for the 2019 St George’s Hero Awards in the Inspirational Leader category!


The trust wrote:

Last week, the panel of judges for the St George’s Hero Awards met to decide on the short list for the awards ceremony on 16 May.

The panel, made up of members of the Trust board, Foundation Trust Governors and representatives of St George’s Hospital Charity, read through each one of the nearly 200 nominations sent in by you. After careful consideration, they decided on the short list for each of the categories, which are set out below!

The St George’s Hero Awards, taking place at Wandsworth Town Hall on the evening of 16 May, promises to be a wonderful evening and we’re both looking forward to celebrating the outstanding work of our nominees with TV presenter Lorraine Kelly! So without further ado, it gives us great pleasure to reveal that the nominees are:

Team of the Year

· Gunning and Holdsworth wards
· Paediatric Emergency Department team
· The Staff Flu Vaccination team
· Specialist Nurses in Organ Donation
Volunteer of the Year

· Jackie Weston, Trevor Howell Day Unit
· Cathy Sage, Gwiillim ward
· Alan Bowen, St George’s Hospital Charity
Innovation of the Year

· New Beginnings
· Assistive Technology Service
Rising Star

· Deepa Leelamany, Urology Clinical Nurse Specialist
· Alexandra McClements, WellChild Paediatric LTV Nurse Specialist
· Stacey Lane, General Porter
· Sonia Monteiro, Staff Nurse
Lifetime Achievement

· Michaela Mayhew, Stem Cell Transplant Nurse Co-ordinator
· Karen Marks, Acting Deputy Head of the South West Thames Genetics Laboratory
· Steve Jones, Physiotherapist
· Manuel Dias, Healthcare Assistant
Inspirational Leader

· Jenni Doman, Deputy Director, Estates & Facilities
· Sue Affleck, Team Leader, Paediatric Clinical Nurse Specialists
· Professor Asma Khalil, Consultant Obstetrician
Unsung Hero

· Pearl Livingstone, Admin Co-ordinator
· Donna Rowe, Catering Hostess
· Katherine Ramos, Staff Nurse
The nominees for the Lifesaver of the Year category will be revealed in eG St George’s this Thursday. The winner of this category will be decided by a public vote, open to everyone including staff, so please look out for the nominee announcement and send in your votes!

Congratulations to all of our nominees, and thank you to all who took the time to nominate a team or colleague, as well as to Pelican London Hotel & Residence and Yellow Brick Group for sponsoring the awards. Profiles of all our nominees will be included in eG between now and the 16 May.


Good luck to all the nominees!

Leave a Reply